Catholic Diocese of Cleveland

1404 East 9th Street | Cleveland, Ohio 44114

Seminarians instituted into Ministry of Acolyte

Ten students of Saint Mary Seminary were instituted into the Ministry of Acolyte by Bishop Nelson Perez during a liturgy on Feb. 2 at the seminary in Wickliffe.

Nine of the new acolytes are from the Diocese of Cleveland; one is from the Diocese of Youngstown.

The acolytes and their home parishes are:

  • Ryan Michael Arto, St. Francis De Sales, Akron
  • Michael Joseph Bedell, Immaculate Heart of Mary, Cuyahoga Falls
  • Michael Joseph Crookston, St. Sebastian, Akron
  • Connor James Hetzel, St. Charles Borromeo, Boardman (Diocese of Youngstown)
  • Ian William Kelly, St. Charles Borromeo, Parma
  • Joseph Daniel Menkhaus Jr., St. Monica, Garfield Heights
  • Cameron David Popik, St. Adalbert, Berea
  • Scott Edward Swinerton, St. Mary of the Falls, Olmsted Falls
  • David Michael Verbsky, St. Mary, Chardon
  • James Thornton Winings, St. Dominic, Shaker Heights

As instituted acolytes, they have the responsibility of assisting priests and deacons in carrying out their liturgical ministry. As special ministers of the Eucharist, the acolytes also may give holy Communion to the faithful at the liturgy and to the sick and they can expose the Blessed Sacrament for adoration.

These young men are in their first year at St. Mary Seminary and Graduate School of Theology. This is one step as they continue their formation for ordination to the priesthood.

Diocese of Cleveland © 2014 1404 East 9th Street | Cleveland, OH 44114
Phone: 216-696-6525 | 1-800-869-6525 (Toll Free in Ohio)